Gotabaya Rajapaksa sworn in as president amidst Tamil - Muslim boycott

Monday November 18, 2019

Mr Gotabaya Rajapaksa has been sworn in as the seventh executive president of Sri Lanka today, amidst boycott by Tamils and Muslims.


A total of 649,004 Tamils and Muslims living across the nine districts of Tamil Eelam boycotted the election on Saturday, with the rest voting mainly for Sajith Premadasa in a failed attempt to prevent Mr Rajapaksa's ascend to power.


Mr Rajapaksa's election victory has renewed fears that the genocide of Tamils, and possibly Muslims, will be accelerated during his presidency.


Meanwhile, the UK Guardian published a news item on Mr Rajapaksa's election victory, with the headline, 'The Terminator': how Gotabaya Rajapaksa's ruthless streak led him to power.'



Photo of the week