Two former LTTE cadres sentenced to 25 years rigorous imprisonment

Wednesday January 23, 2019

Sri Lanka's High Court in Anuradapuram has sentenced two former LTTE cadres to twenty-five years rigorous imprisonment.


The defendants, Sooriyakanthan Jeyachandran alias Uthayan or Iyan, and Sivaprakasan Sivaseelan alias Ilayavan, were convicted of killing four Sri Lankan soldiers, including Colonel Jayantha Suraweera, the commanding officer for Vilpathu Region, and four forest officers, during an attack on 9 March 2007.


The indictment against the two defendants were filed in 2015, when President Maithripala Sirisena and Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe ascended to power under the banner of reconciliation.